Explore our Historic River Town

The Town of Athens is located at the eastern end of Greene County, and was established on February 25th, 1815. Portions of the Towns of Catskill and Coxsackie were used to form the Town of Athens. The town has since developed a rich heritage with diverse architecture spanning over three centuries.

After the bridge went up in 1935, the need for the ferry was eliminated and it closed in 1947. Athens’ layout and architecture have remained essentially the same since its heyday in the late 19th century. It has more than 300 buildings on national and state historic registers and has the feel of a living museum of American architecture, with examples of many of the predominant styles of the 18th and 19th centuries, including Federal, Greek Revival, Italianate, Stick, Second Empire, Folk Victorian and Queen Anne.

The small and friendly community is made up of an eclectic group of artisans, business people, and families who all enjoy the beauty of this historic area and the essence of small town life. To visit the Village of Athens website and learn more about the Village, please click here.

Tentative & Final Roll: http://greene.sdgnys.com/search.aspx.

To view the Town of Athens Code online, please click here.

Town of Athens
2 First Street
Athens, NY 12015

The Town Board is comprised of the Supervisor and four Councilmen. The Board sets policy, approves the budget, adopts local laws, implements policies and administrates local affairs. Each Councilman serves four year terms and the Supervisor serves a two year term. The Town holds annual local elections in November to elect Supervisor and Councilmen, depending on which terms have expired. Residents may also vote on public referenda during these elections.

The public is welcome to the Town Board Meetings, held the first and third Monday of each month at the Athens Volunteer Fire Department, 39 Third St., Athens, NY 12015 at 7:00 p.m. until further notice

Note: The first meeting in November is held the Thursday after the election and meetings that fall on Holidays are usually held on Tuesday.

Town Supervisor
Michael Pirrone

Town Council
Shannon Spinner
Mary Brandow
Anthony Paluch
Michael Ragaini

New York State Representative
Christopher Tague

Antonio Delgado

State Senator
Michelle Hinchey

County Legislator

Edward Bloomer


2021 Minutes

20211202094934156 (1).pdf